Standard Development Lifecycle

1960s – first significant model developed – Standard Development Life Cycle (SDLC), also known as waterfall method. Splits software development process into stages:

  • Requirements
  • Analysis
  • Design
  • Build
  • Test
  • Implementation
  • Maintenance

Model has high level of abstraction – seven stages. No models have lower abstraction guiding development process.
Has Systems Thinking approach – Maintenance loops back into Requirements – software development is circular/iterative process with inputs, outputs, controls and feedback.
V-model and W-model followed on, emphasis on quality and testing.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *